DateRDomáci vs Hostia-
03/29 21:00 13 CD Dragon vs Once Deportivo de Ahuachapán View
03/29 21:30 13 CD Platense Zacatecoluca vs CD Luis Angel Firpo View
03/30 01:00 13 Santa Tecla vs AD Chalatenango View
03/30 01:15 13 Alianza FC vs Jocoro FC View
03/30 01:30 13 CD FAS vs Atletico Marte View
03/30 01:30 13 AD Isidro Metapan vs CD Aguila View
04/01 20:00 14 Atletico Marte vs Alianza FC View
04/01 20:00 14 CD Dragon vs CD Aguila View
04/01 20:00 14 CD FAS vs Jocoro FC View
04/01 20:00 14 CD Luis Angel Firpo vs AD Chalatenango View
04/01 20:00 14 AD Isidro Metapan vs CD Platense Zacatecoluca View
04/01 20:00 14 Santa Tecla vs Once Deportivo de Ahuachapán View


Date R Domáci vs Hostia -
03/26 21:15 12 [11] Atletico Marte vs CD Luis Angel Firpo [4] 1-1
03/26 21:00 12 [12] AD Chalatenango vs AD Isidro Metapan [7] 2-2
03/26 21:00 12 [3] Once Deportivo de Ahuachapán vs CD FAS [5] 0-0
03/26 01:15 12 [2] Alianza FC San Salvador vs CD Platense Zacatecoluca [10] 2-0
03/25 21:15 12 [11] Jocoro FC vs CD Dragon [6] 2-0
03/19 22:00 11 [12] AD Chalatenango vs Atletico Marte [11] 0-2
03/19 21:30 11 [8] CD Platense Zacatecoluca vs CD Aguila [1] 0-3
03/19 21:30 11 [5] CD Dragon vs CD FAS [7] 0-2
03/19 21:15 11 [2] Alianza FC San Salvador vs Santa Tecla [9] 0-0
03/18 21:30 11 [3] Once Deportivo de Ahuachapán vs Jocoro FC [10] 2-0
03/18 21:15 11 [5] CD Luis Angel Firpo vs AD Isidro Metapan [6] 1-0
03/12 21:00 10 [4] Once Deportivo de Ahuachapán vs CD Platense Zacatecoluca [7] 1-1

The Primera División of the Liga de Fútbol cuscatleco Profesional (Professional Football League), more commonly known as La Liga Mayor or La Primera, is the top professional football league in El Salvador.

It was established in 1969, and in 2011 had 10 clubs. Initially the league was run as a year-long tournament, but since 1998 there are two tournaments each year, much like in many other football leagues in the Americas.

The Apertura season runs from August to December, while the Clausura season runs from February to July.

Of the 56 teams to have competed in the league, FAS has won the title 19 times, followed by Alianza and Aguila (16), Firpo and Isidro Metapan (10)



In 1921, the Salvadoran Sports Commission (Comisión Nacional de Educación Física) held its very first National Sports Week. Although initially this event did not include any participation from football clubs, it would go on to be the basis of what would grow to be the Liga Mayor of today. In 1924, due to high demand, the commission included a football tournament in the annual Sports Week. Due to the enormous success of this event, it was decided that starting in 1926 the Sports Week tournament would in turn become the country's official National Football Championship. The championship was to be contended by three teams who represent the three different zones of the country playing in a double round robin format. The first three teams to compete in the tournament were, Nequepio (Central Zone), Chinameca Sporting Club (Eastern Zone) and Olímpic (Western Zone). This format was used until 1930.


Controversy occurred after the 1929–30 championship when finalists Excélsior F.C. (who represented the western zone) complained that the second leg of the final against Hércules should not be registered, as they felt that the referee in that game had helped Hércules win the title. The Sports Commission did not agree and the result was not changed. As a result, Excélsior F.C. withdrew from the tournament and Hércules was crowned champion. This led to there being talk of corruption from event organisers against teams from the western part of the country, and as a result teams from that zone refused to take part in any of the following Championships. Because of this there was no national playoff held again until 1937.

Return of the National Championship

The national championship returned to its original format in 1937, but was short lived, as once again, teams complained of there still being corruption within the tournament. Again as a result, there was no national championship during 1939 and 1941. Although no national championship was played, there was still regional championships which over time are now considered to be legitimate national championships.

Introduction of a league format

In 1947 the Salvadoran Football Federation tried to organize a National Championship in league format, but this proved to be unsuccessful and the tournament was suspended after only a few rounds. It proved to be more successful the following season, but was postponed once again in 1949. Although this new format did not begin very well, because of a lack of organisation, it did prove to work very well during the 1950 championship, and throughout the 1950s.

The league begins to form

The 1950s saw interest in the league begin to grow nationwide and although the league did have some problems, with teams dropping out at the end of any given season, it would not affect the league as a whole, as there were various new teams that were anxious to take part in the league and take the place of those that had left. In 1955, league organisers announced that the championship would now be played out in a double round robin format, with a maximum of 10 teams taking part in the league. This year also saw the introduction of promotion and relegation into the league.

Switch to Apertura/Clausura format

In 1998, league officials decided to change the league format from a yearlong tournament to an Apertura/Clausura schedule, with the hope that it would garner more interest in the league and give a chance for its player to rest between seasons.

Annex Major League Soccer El Salvador

These are the three league format that existed in Salvadoran national football league until now

  • Short Tournament (1926–1946)

Three regional champions, faced each other in the national championship. Each team represented a different section of the country (West zone, Central zone, East zone).

  • League System (1947–1997)

This format consisted of all against all and twelve national teams participated.

  • Apertura/Clausura format (1999–present)

The current league format, consisting of two short football tournaments annually mind between opening and closing ceremonies are held.

New league format 2015/2016

For the 2015–16 season, the league will have 12 teams leaving behind 10 team years. With the approval of this new format, major league soccer Cadre El Salvador, seeks to be more competitive and bring football to more people throughout the country.